An evening of celebration at 2018 awards ceremony

Tue 16 Oct, 2018

Long service and special achievements were celebrated at Buckinghamshire Fire & Rescue Service's annual awards evening, which took place this month at The Oculus in Aylesbury.

The event was opened by Sir Henry Aubrey-Fletcher, Lord-Lieutenant for Buckinghamshire, and attended by guests including Councillor Mike Smith, Aylesbury's Deputy Mayor, Councillor Martin Petchey, Mayor of Milton Keynes, Councillor Netta Glover, Chairman of Buckinghamshire County Council, and Councillor Roger Reed, Chairman of Buckinghamshire & Milton Keynes Fire Authority.

They are pictured above with Chief Fire Officer Jason Thelwell and award recipients.

Fire Brigade Long Service and Good Conduct Medal (20 years)

- Firefighter Stephen Halfacre

- Station Commander Kevin Mercer

- Firefighter Jonathan Newton

- Watch Commander Kieron Thomas

- Group Commander Simon Tuffley

25 years' service

- Firefighter Paul Collins

- Station Commander Steve Hawkins

- Watch Commander James Tuffley

- Nigel Turner, Operational Risk Information Officer

30 years' service

- Marie Crothers, Programme Manager

- Maria Darrell, Asset Management System Officer

- Firefighter Damian Findlow, recently retired

- Crew Commander Terry Johnson

40 years' service

- Firefighter Neil Stafford

United Kingdom Rescue Organisation Award 2018

Crew Commander Alan Still, Team Captain; Crew Commander Rhys Price; Firefighter Paul Collins; Firefighter Ian Newton; Firefighter Alan Cawston; Firefighter Neil Hosier; Station Commander Steve Hawkins (Station Manager of the Team); Station Commander Steve Cook, Assessor; and Group Commander Phill Mould, Assessor.

Chairman's Award

- Area Commander Neil Boustred

Service Awards for Excellence 2018

Letter of Commendation

- Firefighter Lawrence Gillman

Letters of Recognition

Joanne Cook, Community Safety & Safeguarding Manager; Crew Commander Steven King; Rachel Lailey, HR Officer (Employee Relations); Craig Newman, Senior Business Intelligence Analyst; Brian Wheeler, Facilities Officer; Keith Wheeler, Road Safety Officer; Grant & Stone, Amersham

Recognition Award

- GE Healthcare, Amersham

Employee Award for Charity Work

Winner: Watch Commander Mike Downard; Runners-up: Watch Commander Adam Burch and Kerry Nicholson, Community Safety Coordinator

Initiative/Special Achievement Award

Winner: Buckingham 12-hour Fireground Fitness Test; Runner-up: Embers, Aylesbury Fire Station

Partnership Working Award

Winner: Embers, Aylesbury Fire Station; Runner-up: Station Commander Steve Hawkins

Team of the Year

Winners: Resource Management Team; Runners-up: Public Safety Administration Team

Apprentice of the Year

Winner: Melissa Morton, Finance & Procurement Team; Runner-up: Jack Richards, High Wycombe Fire Station

Staff Member of the Year

Winner: Greg Edwards, Water Officer; Runner-up: Terry Ridgley, Welfare Support Officer

Exceptional Service Award

Winner: Damian Findlow, recently retired