Fire Authority to welcome six new members

Tue 6 Jun, 2017

Pictured left to right are Councillors Arif Hussain, Niknam Hussain, Paul Irwin,
 Luisa Sullivan, Alan Walters MBE and Douglas McCall.

Buckinghamshire & Milton Keynes Fire Authority - the publicly accountable body which manages Buckinghamshire Fire & Rescue Service on behalf of the communities it serves - will welcome six new members when it meets in Aylesbury tomorrow (Wednesday 7 June 2017).

They are Councillors Arif Hussain, Niknam Hussain, Paul Irwin, Luisa Sullivan and Alan Walters MBE from Buckinghamshire County Council, and Councillor Douglas McCall from Milton Keynes Council.

The changes follow last month's Buckinghamshire County Council elections, and an adjustment to the ratio of Buckinghamshire and Milton Keynes members to keep it proportional to the populations they represent. It recently changed to 11:6 from 12:5. 

Members make decisions on policy, finance and resources. The Fire Authority's role is to:

  • Set the annual budget.
  • Agree the staff, vehicle and other resources needed to deliver an efficient service.
  • Approve Buckinghamshire Fire & Rescue Service's plans, policies and strategies.
  • Approve the composition of committees and sub-committees. 

Buckinghamshire & Milton Keynes Fire Authority normally meets four times a year, with an annual meeting held in June. At this meeting the Chairman is elected and the Vice-Chairman appointed, and committee membership decided.

Click here to see the agenda and papers for tomorrow's meeting.