Fire Authority

Buckinghamshire & Milton Keynes Fire Authority

Buckinghamshire Fire & Rescue Service covers the area served by Buckinghamshire County Council and Milton Keynes Council. These two councils appoint members to Buckinghamshire & Milton Keynes Fire Authority to oversee the service.

Their numbers are proportional to the populations they represent, with 11 members from Buckinghamshire County Council and six from Milton Keynes Council.

Buckinghamshire & Milton Keynes Fire Authority is a publicly accountable body which manages Buckinghamshire Fire & Rescue Service on behalf of the communities it serves. Members make decisions on policy, finance and resources. Its role is to:

  • Set the annual budget.
  • Agree the staff, vehicle and other resources needed to deliver an efficient service.
  • Approve Buckinghamshire Fire & Rescue Service's plans, policies and strategies.
  • Approve the composition of committees and sub-committees. 

Buckinghamshire & Milton Keynes Fire Authority normally meets four times a year, with an annual meeting held in June. At this meeting the Chairman is elected and the Vice-Chairman appointed, and committee membership decided.

All Fire Authority meeting dates can be found within our Events calendar.

Useful Links:

Contact Us:

Katie Nellist – Democratic Services Officer
Brigade HQ,Stocklake
Aylesbury, HP20 1BD
01296 744633 / 07799 098948